Childfree Family Spotlight on Kristyn

Say Hello to Kristyn!

I'm ready for my close-up!
My husband Gary and I have been married for 19 years
Basco is 11 and Rosie is 14
My mother Karen
My brother Erik and father William

What’s your Childfree Family username?


Where were you born?

Detroit, Michigan (US)

Where do you currently live?

Novi, Michigan (US)

Are you childfree by-choice or by-circumstance?


If childfree by-circumstance, can you share your journey with us?

I found out I couldn’t have children. One of my Fallopian tubes is blocked. I found out after a miscarriage. I was upset for a few years I couldn’t have any and then I started to come around and started being more creative. I remembered taking a filmmaking class before I got married so I threw myself into filmmaking.

Now my husband and I make short films together. That also helps our marriage grow stronger.

Do you have any pets?

Rosie – Black cat

Basco – Tabby cat

What was your first job?

Arby’s a long time ago.

What is your occupation now?

Photographer, filmmaker and actress

What is a typical day like for you?

I enjoy my morning coffee with a cat in my lap. Some days I have errands. When I don’t, I’m brainstorming for my next film or writing. Some days I just watch a scary or comedy movie and relax.

Do you enjoy any hobbies?

Cooking is my main hobby. I love cooking and I always get compliments from a lot of people that I’m a great cook.

Do you have a special talent or skill?

Photography, filmmaking, cooking

If you could master a new skill instantly, what would you like to learn to do?


What’s an interesting fact about you?

I’m biracial. I’m half black and half Norwegian. I visited Norway a few times when I was young.

Do you have any “stupid human” tricks?

I can cross my toes.

Are there any accomplishments you want to brag about? (Don’t be modest, we want to know!)

My filmmaking. I’ve finished eight short films and most of them have gotten good compliments.

I’m also an actress. I had a lead role in a small theater a couple of summers ago.

I’m very proud of myself.

What do you enjoy most about the childfree lifestyle?

Relaxing when I want. Traveling when I want. Sleeping late sometimes.

Give us your Top Three recommendations for travel destinations that you have visited?

Santa Barbara, CA

Los Angeles, CA

Miami, FL

Is there a travel spot you REALLY want to visit?

Las Vegas, NV

What do you want people who are not childfree to know about this lifestyle?

That I am childfree and that doesn’t mean I don’t like children. I love kids. I just can’t have any.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

Hopefully, famous. lol

Do you want to give a plug for anything?

My Facebook Page

What is your favorite quote?

“Some women procreate. Some women create.” – Kristyn Shelley-Olson

If your life had a theme song, what would it be?

Knight Rider Theme Song. Because I like to travel by car.